Dim sum is a traditional Chinese cuisine with a rich history dating back to Guangdong, Southern China in the Song dynasty. It was once served in tea houses along the Silk Road and has since become a staple in China. The unique characteristic of small portions offers a chance for diners to experience a range of flavors and textures. The menu is full of delicious options, including steamed, fried, or baked seafood, meat, and vegetable dishes like shumai, buns, dumplings, turnip cake, and more. With its diverse selection, dim sum is a popular choice for catering events and lunches, working perfectly as a main course. So go ahead and treat your team to the taste and tradition of dim sum!
Remember that the number of dim sum that you receive will vary depending on the restaurants and how it is packaged. If the dim sum is packaged with a light entree such as rice or lo mein, you will likely receive around 8 pieces of dim sum. However, with larger entrees, you may only receive 4-5 pieces of dim sum. Dim sum is a fairly carb heavy food so it is sure to be filling!
It might be a good idea to order for a few extra people, even if you're getting individually packaged meals. You never know when an unexpected guest might drop by, or if someone has an especially big appetite on the day of your event. By ordering a little extra, you can ensure that everyone is well-fed and happy!
Unfortunately, almost all dim sum and dumpling options are wrapped in a wheat-based skin so they are not able to be prepared gluten-free.
What is MSG? Is it safe?
Monosodium glutamate, commonly referred to as MSG, is a popular food ingredient utilized to enhance flavor and provide the taste of umami, which is one of the five basic tastes alongside sweet, spicy, sour, and bitter. In the past, MSG was regarded as a hazardous additive, but contemporary research and health organizations concur that it is safe for consumption in moderation.
What goes well with dim sum?
Dim sum is typically served with tea and is meant to be enjoyed as small bites, so no one dish is considered the traditional accompaniment. That being said, some popular accompaniments for dim sum include rice, noodle dishes, stir-fried vegetables, and soups.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Soy sauce is a staple in Chinese cuisine, however, it is not typically gluten-free. This means that most Chinese dishes, including dim sum, will not be considered gluten-free unless the restaurant specifically uses gluten-free soy sauce.
Are there vegan and vegetarian options for dim sum?
For those looking for meat-free options, you can opt for dim sum dishes filled with vegetables, or order sides such as sautéed string beans and garlic eggplant. Additionally, many dim sum restaurants offer the option to replace meat with tofu in their dishes, making it easy for vegans and vegetarians to enjoy this traditional cuisine.
We screen for quality food, punctual deliveries, and responsive communication from all of our restaurants, caterers, and bakeries.
Order individually-packaged meals or buffet style. If individual style, you have the option to send a link to teammates for a group order.
You can order self-service online with a few clicks of a button. Or if you order frequently enough, we can provide an account manager.
Leave reviews of your orders, and you'll earn points that can be redeemed for future credits and Amazon rewards.